SOUTH African president Jacob Zuma has formally announced the new SABC board with Ben Ngubane the Chairperson and Felleng Sekha deputy, according to a report on Business Day's website.

The list includes :

Cedric Sabelo Gina * Phillipa “Pippa” Green * Peter John Harris * Barbara Masekela * Magathe Mello * Nkotomane Motsepe * Dr Baldwin “Ben” Ngubane * David Niddrie * Claire O’Neil * Felleng Sekha * Suzanne Vos * Desmond Golding In terms of section 13(3) of the Act, the President has designated Dr Ben Ngubane as Chairperson of the Board and Felleng Sekha as Deputy Chairperson of the SABC Board.

Ngubane is the former Minister of Arts, Culture, Science and Technology and former South African ambassador to Japan, and the Presidency says he will bring the necessary expertise and depth of experience required in a weighty position of this nature.

Sekha has extensive experience in the broadcasting and telecommunications sectors, having served in various positions, including as chairperson of the Independent Broadcasting Authority and the National Telecommunications Forum.

Click here to read the full report, posted on Business Day's website.