NIGERIA'S National Broadcasting Commission, NBC, has sanctioned 35 broadcast stations in January 2010, writes Liade Akinboade in Vanguard.

This was stated Monday by the NBC, Head, Public Affairs, Mr. Salihu Awwalu, each station was fined between N50, 000 to N500,000 for various offences.

The breach included 'Not To Be Broadcast Before' (NTBBs), adverts with spurious claims, advertising alcohol outside the stipulated time period and contravention of election regulation.

According to the statement, the stations that were affected include, Broadcasting Corporation of Oyo State, BCOS, Imo Broadcasting Corporation, IBC,FM Owerri, Anambra Broadcasting Service, ABS, TV, Awka, Silverbird Awka, NTA Awka, Raypower 100.6, Bond FM, Edo State Broadcasting Service, EBSTV, and Ondo State Radio Corporation, OSRC, FM.

Other stations were warned included Ondo State Radiovision Corporation, OSRCTV, Ondo State Radiovision Corporation, OSRC, FM both in Akure, Ondo State, Jeremi FM, Warri and Independent Television, Benin.

Click here to read the full report, posted on Vanguard's website.