Parliament has approved four names out of the five put forward by the ANC to serve on the new SABC interim board, writes Dominic Mahlangu in The Times.

The appointments end two weeks of anticipation during which the outgoing board members were grilled in P arliament on their role in the near collapse of the SABC.

F ormer trade unionist Irene Charnley was elected interim chair yesterday and f ormer journalist Phil Mtimkhulu will be her deputy.

The two others elected from the ANC list are specialist entertainment lawyer Lesley Sedibe and media consultant Libby Lloyd.

Advocate William Rasenga Mokhare was the only ANC candidate not elected.

Former IFP MP Suzanne Vos was voted in following submissions by opposition parties.

President Jacob Zuma is expected to endorse the interim board soon after his return from Libya.

Opposition parties said yesterday they would not support the newly appointed interim board, claiming that it was dominated by the ANC ’s preferred candidates.

Click here to read the full report, posted on