Wits campus radio station VowFM has continued their winning streak, scooping four awards at the annual Liberty Radio Awards held at the Sandton Convention Centre on Saturday night



Campus radio station Vow FM, based at Wits Journalism, walked away with four Liberty Radio awards on Saturday after being nominated for 11 awards.The Liberty Radio Awards take up where the MTN Radio Awards left off.

The evening had a total of about 27 awards that were further sub-categorised into Campus, Community, PBS (Public Broadcasting Service) and Commercial.

In the campus radio category The Lift Club won the Best Afternoon Drive Show, while DJ Keyez took the award for the Best Afternoon Drive Presenter. Katleho Sekhotho walked away with the Best Newsreader award.


The Liberty Radio Awards also inducted Katleho Mahlangudrew-patrick-miller-305 (22) as a “Bright Star”, someone who will play a substantial role in the industry’s future.  Similar to the Hall of Fame in recognizing legends in the industry, this award recognizes budding radio practitioners.

His nomination for the award is in acknowledgement of his stellar work as the youngest technical manager at a radio station in the country, while he also manages to up-keep the sound of VoW FM as the stations producer.

“The award is an honour. For me, it is a confirmation and affirmation of my efforts in my work and also an encouragement to put in more hours in the future,” he says.

“This award is to recognize and give respect for the people working behind the scenes, be it in television or radio.”

Read the full list of the Liberty Radio award winners.