The versatile broadcast and print media journalist Bruce Whitfield was
named the Sanlam Financial Journalist of the Year for 2008 in
Johannesburg this evening, according to a media release.
He is only the second journalist in the  34-year history of the competition to win the title in consecutive years. The late Deon Basson claimed two such doubles in his illustrious career.

The Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism were introduced in 1974 to acknowledge the indispensable role of financial journalism in society and to promote the high standards required of financial journalists. 

Whitfield presents The World at Six on Talk Radio 702 and 567 CapeTalk.  He is also the presenter of Stock Watch on Summit TV and a contributing journalist to Finweek, as well as to some non-financial publications.  Apart from being awarded the Sanlam Financial Journalist of the Year award for 2008, Whitfield also won the sections Economy and Industries: Magazines and Weekly Newspapers and Broadcast Media (the latter for the third year running). He was on the shortlists of two more print media sections. 

Prof. Anton Harber, convener of the adjudicators, commended Whitfield for his consistent quality reporting and ability to switch so effortlessly from one medium to the other.

The competition attracted 98 entries from 60 journalists representing 31 different publications, Internet news services and radio and television stations.

Mathabo le Roux (Business Day) also excelled by claiming two section prizes, Economy and Industries: Daily Newspapers and Internet and the special section, Development Economics.

Apart from Whitfield and Le Roux, the prize-winners of other sections were: 

•    Jan de Lange of Sake24 (Markets and Companies: Daily newspapers and Internet);
•    Rob Rose of Financial Mail (Markets and Companies: Magazines and weekly newspapers);
•    Bruce Cameron of Personal Finance (Personal Finance: Newspapers, financial magazines and Internet) – for an unequalled 10th time;
•    Patricia McCracken from Bona (Personal Finance: Non-financial publications);

The merit award for the best entry by a journalist with less than three years' experience and entering for the first time went to Marc Ashton of

The adjudicators were

•    Prof Anton Harber (former journalist/editor and currently Director: Wits School of Journalism and Media Studies),
•    Robert Brand (former journalist and currently teaching at the Pearson Chair of Economics Journalism, Rhodes School of Journalism and Media Studies),
•    Ulrich Joubert (economist at Kruger International),
•    Reg Rumney (former financial journalist/editor and currently Director: Centre for Economics Journalism in Africa, Rhodes School of Journalism and Media Studies),
•    Conrad Sidego (former journalist, public relations practitioner and diplomat, and currently director of companies),
•    Caroline Southey (former journalist/financial editor and currently director of Community Banking Strategy and Reporting at Standard Bank),
•    Hein Swart (former business editor and parliamentary representative of Die Burger in Cape Town),
•    Peter Vundla (deputy executive chairperson: AMB Holdings), and
•    Réjane Woodroffe (until recently, chief economist and head of international investments at Metropolitan Asset Managers).

Full particulars about the competition are accessible on Sanlam’s website via the links More, Sponsorships and Media (on left side). 


Issued by Sanlam Group Communications (021) 947-2567
Enquiries:  Frans van Rensburg (021 947-4893 / 082 805 9245)